Student Clubs

BRPS STUDENT CLUBS
Connecting your common interests!

 

BE NICE. CLUB

Be nice. is more than a phrase. It's an Action Plan! Learn what it means to notice, invite,
challenge, and empower. Take the Pledge to be nice. in your community! Contact Tricia
Schrotenboer at schrotenboert@brpsk12.org for more information.

BLACK RIVER THEATRE 

BRTC is open to any 6th-12th grade student with an interest in theatre (on or off the stage).  We put on a play in November, a musical in March, and a Children's Play in April.  There are General Membership Meetings about current BRTC happenings the first Wednesday of each month from 3:15-4:00 in the Small Ensemble Room.  Come to a meeting to find out more about auditions or getting involved with a production crew (set design, art, makeup, props, costumes, PR, tech crew and stage crew)  

Contact Information:

Sam Lowry, President lowrys@brpsk12.org
Bethie Bensinger, Middle School Representative bensingere@brpsk12.org
Mrs Andrews, Director andrewsr@brpsk12.org
Mrs. Pierson, Director piersone@brpsk12.org


BLACK RIVER STRAIGHT GAY ALLIANCE

The GSA is a student-run club which provides a safe place for students to meet, support each other, talk about issues/news/topics related to the LGBTQ+ community. Part of each GSA meeting is working towards problem-solving and address homophobia, transphobia, and bullying. The club is open to all students 8th-12th grade. 

The GSA provides:

Support
Community connections
An opportunity to take action to create change
Social events and gatherings
Volunteer hours  

For meeting dates and locations please contact brpride@brpsk12.org


BLACK RIVER WYLDLIFE (YOUNG LIFE)

Meets Tuesdays during M.S. lunch and Fridays before school from 7:15-7:45 a.m. in Ms. Kane’s room (room 218).  Also Tuesday evening club meets at Moran Park Church from 6-7:30.

Contact Jeanne Kane at kanej@brpsk12.org for more information.


BLACK RIVER YOUNG LIFE

Open to all High School students: Contact Nate Meyer at meyern@brpsk12.org for details.


CALLING ALL COLORS CLUB

Calling All Colors creates an inviting space to talk about race and provides students with tools for increasing positive racial impacts within schools.  The club meets Wednesdays throughout the school year during MS lunch/HS cap in Ms Gaffney’s room (Room 408).  Students attend both a Fall and Spring conference and design an action plan to initiate with their peers throughout the school year.   New students are welcome to join at any time. Check out the website to learn more  https://ethnicdiversity.org/programs/callingallcolors/.

Contact Mrs. Gaffney at gaffneys@brpsk12.org for more information.


GAMING CLUB

Students interested in participating in the Gaming Club can contact Mr. John Newman, at newmanj@brpsk12.org, for club dates and times. 


GIRL UP FOUNDATION, UNITED NATIONS CLUB

A club dedicated to education, advocacy, fundraising and service. Girl up! Black River.
Contact Nicole Sinclair at sinclairn@brpsk12.org for more information.

GREEN TEAM

Contact Ms. Gorris at Gorrist@brpsk12.org or Ms. VanderBush at Vanderbusha@brpsk12.org for more information.


HIGH SCHOOL FIRST ROBOTICS TEAM CHAOS CLUB

www.hollandchaos.com


JAPAN CLUB

Japan Club is a place for students in grades 6-12 to come and talk about anime, draw, read manga, or learn more about Japan. If there are any questions, contact Mrs. Stephens at stephenm@brpsk12.org.


MIDDLE SCHOOL MATH CLUB

Meets Mondays after school from 3-4:15 in Ms. Reinartz’s room (room 308) and THURSDAYS during lunch and CAP in the computer lab.

Contact Dr. Harrelson at dyana.harrelson@gmail.com or Ms. Reinartz at reinartzj@brpsk12.org for more information.


MIDDLE SCHOOL FTC ROBOTICS TEAMS

Middle school FTC robotics is both a G-block class and an extracurricular activity!  Next fall the school will offer two sections of robotics as a G-block class. In late fall after-school practices are added to supplement in-class time.  One or more tournaments in late November or early December, and more if the team advances!

Contact Mr.Bittrick at bittrickb@brpsk12.org for more information.


ORCHESTRA BOARD

Orchestra students in grades 6-12 may join the Orchestra Board. We meet monthly during HS CAP in the Small Ensemble Room. Please contact Ms. Clark at clarkt@brpsk12.org if you have questions.


SAILING CLUB

The Sailing Club is open to 7th-12th graders.  The club promotes development of leadership, sportsmanship, and sailing skills and competes in the Midwest Interscholastic Sailing Association.  The sailing club meets in the fall, from September-November, and in the spring, from April-May.

Contact Matt Hemmelgarn at 616-994-3001 or matthew@jesco-llc.com or nick@mbja.com, or Karen Rowe at rowek@brpsk12.org, or Nick Hovland at 616-796-8671 for more information.


SKI CLUB

Attention all skiers and snowboarders, join us this winter on our weekly trips to Bittersweet Ski Area. Forms and information are available in Mr. Bittrick's room 211. 


UNITED WAY 

Students in grades 9-12 can join the United Way Club. Meetings are held during HS CAP in Mrs. Stephens Room, 321. 

Meeting Dates:

September 12 and 26
October 17 and 24 - The October 10 meeting is cancelled. 
November 14 and 28
December 12

Contact Mrs. Stephens at stephensm@brpsk12.org if you have questions. 


YOUTH IN GOVERNMENT 

An informational meeting for Youth in Government 2019 (Grades 9-12) is Thursday, September 6, during High School CAP, in Ms. Witvoet's room 418.  If you can't be there, contact Ms. Witvoet or Mrs. Stephens.

 

491 Columbia Avenue
Holland, MI 49423
Phone: 616.355.0055

Fax: 616.355.0057